GROM OF THE WEEK

Name: Kirra Pinkerton

Age: 14 years old

Hometown: San Clemente, CA

School: Laurel Springs

Support: My family, friends and my sponsors (Hurley, Lost Surfboards, Sunbum, Syck Trix, OAM) 

Local Break: Lowers

Nickname: Pinky

Magic Boards: All of my Lost Surfboards are magic. Thank you, Matt!!

IG Account: @kirrapink

Quote: Surfing is a lifestyle, help everyone to enjoy it!

What gets you Stoked? Surfing with all of my friends and getting good grades. Also helping people out who don't have the little things we have in our daily lives. 

Who is in your Tribe? Rachel Presti (@rayraysurf), Audrey Presti (@audrey_presti), Ella McCaffray (@ellamccaffray), Kalohe Danbara (Kalohe.danbara),  Emma Stone (emmastone.415)  

What do you do when you are not surfing all day? Either School, working out or hanging out with my friends.

What is a Grom? A Grom is someone who is always stoked and frothing to just get out there and do something!

What moves are you working on this week? My bottom turns and perfecting them for a good turn off the top. 

What is your favorite thing about the ocean? That it is always changing?

Early morning offshores or Afternoon glass off? Afternoon glass off because there is usually less crowd in the lineup and the waves seem to get better in the afternoon. Plus the sunsets in San Clemente can be amazing. 

Dream Trip? My dream trip would be a boat trip to the Mentawais to get some amazing waves with my family and friends including @gabriela_bryan @rayraysurf. All expense paid would be even dreamier. 

Post surf Grinds? Active Culture, the Quinoa Lentil Bowl.

Inspirations in or out of the water? Definitely, my parents for sure, but also my friends because I see them do something and it inspires me to go for it. 

Where do you want to be in 2020? On the USA Olympic Team and or the WCT.

Wave Pools or the Ocean? I have never surfed in a wave pool so let's go with the Ocean. I would love to try Kelly's wave pool one day. 

What is your first memory of the Ocean? Learning to surf in Hanalei Bay on Kauai with my mom and dad. 

 

Share